quick facts

Welcome to Sanders County

Sanders County is located in Northwestern Montana. It is bordered on the west by Idaho’s Panhandle and is Montana’s 18th most populous county with approximately 11,000 residents. The county was established in 1905 and named after Wilbur Fisk Sanders, pioneer and U.S. Senator from Montana.

The Clark Fork River, a tributary of the Columbia, runs the length of the valley in Sanders County. The county also encompasses the Cabinet Mountain Wilderness and two National Forests.


County Appointed Board Openings

The following County Appointed Boards have openings: Dixon Refuse Disposal District, Hot Springs Airport Advisory, and Thompson Falls TV District (need representation from the west end of the county and the Dixon/Paradise areas), Thompson Falls Public Library, and Sanders County Fair Commission (need representation from one individual from the Hot Springs/Dixon area, one individual from […]

Tax Bills Are Late

***Due to a taxable value dispute between Northwestern Energy and the Department of Revenue, all tax bill mailings have been delayed statewide. The Sanders County Treasurer hopes to have bills mailed out by the middle of next week, Nov. 21-25, 2016. Payment due date for taxes has been moved to December 28th, with no late […]